Managing Find My for macOS

What is Find My?

Find My is a popular iCloud feature that allows for remote tracking, locking, and wiping of iOS and macOS devices. Find My is often enabled immediately after signing in with an Apple ID to a compatible device. Once Find My is enabled, the device is associated with the Apple ID that was used to sign in and the device can not be activated if it were to be wiped unless the Apple ID registered to the device is used to sign in.

Why is Find My for macOS important?

For companies without a strategy to manage Find My on company devices, Find My can become an administrative burden that prevents devices from being reused without time and effort that is required to remove an activation lock. Removing an activation lock on a Mac requires visiting a physical Apple Store or Apple Authorized Service Provider with a proof of purchase.

How does Rippling manage Find My for macOS?

In your company’s Hardware settings, Find My Mac is available in the left sidebar. This page contains a toggle for clearing Find My when Rippling is used to wipe a computer. Currently, this feature is only supported for devicesĀ without Apple’s T2 security chip. Per Apple, the computers that contain the T2 security chip are:

  • iMac Pro
  • Mac Pro introduced in 2019
  • Mac mini introduced in 2018
  • MacBook Air introduced in 2018 or later
  • MacBook Pro introduced in 2018 or later

Although Rippling Hardware does not currently support removing Find My for macOS on some Mac computers, support for this feature is currently in development.

How to disable Find My for macOS

As with other macOS features, including iCloud and its various features, Find My can be disabled via profiles that can be deployed to your company computers with Rippling.

 

Should I not allow my employees to use personal Apple IDs?

This is up to a company’s Hardware admin. While this may work, this may not work for everyone. One option to consider is to use Apple’s Managed Apple IDs feature in Apple Business Manager. Read more about Managed Apple IDs here.

How to remove an activation lock from macOS

If a company computer has an activation lock that is tied to an employee’s personal Apple ID and Rippling can not be used to wipe the device to clear Find My (for supported models only), Apple’s guidance on the matter is to ask the owner of the Apple ID to follow these steps:

  1. Sign in to iCloud.com with their Apple ID.
  2. Go to Find My iPhone.
  3. Click All Devices at the top of the screen.
  4. Select the device that you want to remove from iCloud.
  5. Click Erase [device]. Select Next until the device is erased.
  6. Click Remove from Account.

After the previous owner removes the device from their account, turn off the device and then turn it back on to begin the setup process.

If the previous owner of the Apple ID on the device can not be contacted, Apple can remove the activation lock by visiting an Apple Store or Apple Authorized Service Provider with a proof of purchased of the device. Visit getsupport.apple.com to view the available support options.